Room 119 by TF Lince

116Shares

Room 119 is about a man who is down on his luck and tries to commit suicide. A couple recommends him to book into Room 119 at the Welnetham Hall Hotel. He makes arrangements, and book into the hotel, and it becomes the start of a very strange journey!

This was much the same as his life right now – he was destroyed. How did he lose control? How had it all gone so wrong?

Lince, T F. Room 119: The Whitby Trader: A mystery thriller to die for (p. 45). Kindle Edition.

Book Cover Room 119 by TF Lince

TF Lince lives in Darlington with his wife, Claire. His daughter Annie is a talented guitarist and is setting up her own band. The author enjoys golfing and is a Middlesbrough FC fan. He works as an IT Consultant and writes in his spare time.

I have found the author on Twitter, and since I’ve decided to read out of my comfort zone this year, I have bought this book as it was on special. Lucky me! 😀

Room 119: The Whitby Trader is his debut novel, and I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot remember when last I got so engrossed in a book!

Room 119 – Summary

Dean Harrison is one of the leading traders at Falcon International. Life was good to Dean. He has a wife and daughter he loves (but do not see often enough) and is driving his dream car (a Porsche 911).

That is until the day he pulls out all stops and his trade go horribly wrong!

Shunned from the firm, Dean gives himself over to alcohol, until he ends up on the suicide hotspot of Beachy Head, behind Sweet Dreams Nursing Home for Alzheimer’s patients. An old couple enjoying the view kept him from jumping and suggested he visit Welnetham Hall Hotel, and specifically book into Room 119.

“I’m glad we were up here to help, Dean. Give these people a ring. They are good at dealing with people like you. It’s where we spent our honeymoon. Make sure you book into Room 119.”

Lince, T F. Room 119: The Whitby Trader: A mystery thriller to die for (p. 59). Kindle Edition.

During his stay in this hotel, Dean enters a different reality, meeting up with several guides who through cryptic clues try to help him find his way back. He doesn’t know where he is and where he is supposed to go back to. Will he manage to find all the missing pieces and get a second chance at life?

Also Read:  The Cuts that Cure by Arthur Herbert

In most of these type of fantasy novels, the reader can normally pinpoint a specific entrance and exit point into and from the alternate reality where a character finds himself.

But in this book, we can define an entrance point. But the author is very cunning. Because even though we think Dean is back in reality, is he really?

What did I like?

I love how the author just keep you guessing. Every time that I think the story if winding down and is close to the end, I am surprised by another twist or turn.

And not so much?

Deity swears. Although it is understandable why a character will do it given the situation.

Should you read Room 119?

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel with all its twists and turns. Many of the questions and issues Dean face are the same that we are often faced with in life.

Excellent debut novel. Recommend for readers of Dark Fantasy Horror, Dark Fantasy or Paranormal & Urban Fantasy. And of course, Harry Potter fans. Also check out my review of Becoming Insane and The Mummy of Monte Cristo.

You can also read my interview with the author.

The main character is faced with many challenges. What advise would you give to him to deal with his situation? We would love to hear from you. Please share with us in the comments.

Also Read:  Before You Go ...: Frozen Marshmallows; what isn't it should be by Moni V

Follow TF Lince

Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon

Language:

English

Print Length:

308 pages

Publication Date:

6 May 2017

Text-to-Speech | Screen Reader | Enhanced Typesetting | Word Wise

Categories: Medical Thrillers

Trigger Warnings: Euthanasia | Marital Violence | Sexual References | Profanity

Check out the ♥Books I Love♥!

Hi! I am Susan

Welcome to my adventure

Why Read or Rot?

I have started reading at the age of four. I can remember how I often read under the covers with a flashlight when I was supposed to sleep.

During my early school years, we visited the library once a week. I couldn’t pick out my new book fast enough! By the end of the period, I would have finished it already, leaving me with nothing to read for the rest of the week!

Growing up, Fridays was the highlight of my week. Dad would pack the whole family into the car, and off we go! You guessed right – to the library! We were a family of readers.

In my adult years, I’ve developed a variety of interests like technology, photography, gardening and even writing. But reading was and will always be a part of my life!

Reading for me is like breathing. If I cannot read, my soul will quietly rot away

Visits: 96
Total: 8097
116Shares

Leave a Reply