Room 119 by TF Lince

115Shares

TF Lince lives in Darlington with his wife, Claire. His daughter Annie is a talented guitarist and is setting up her own band. The author enjoys golfing and is a Middlesbrough FC fan. He works as an IT Consultant and writes in his spare time.

Amazon Author Page
Book Cover Room 119 by TF Lince

Language: English

Print Length: 280 pages

Text-to-Speech | Screen Reader | Word Wise

Publication Date: 14 December 2017

Trigger Warnings: Suicide | Profanity | Deity Swears

Categories: Dark Fantasy Horror | Dark Fantasy | Paranormal & Urban Fantasy (Kindle Store)

Read the blurb on Amazon

I have found the author on Twitter, and since I’ve decided to read out of my comfort zone this year, I have bought this book as it was on special. Lucky me! 😀

Room 119: The Whitby Trader is his debut novel, and I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot remember when last I got so engrossed in a book!

Summary

Dean Harrison is one of the leading traders at Falcon International. Life was good to Dean. He has a wife and daughter he loves (but do not see often enough) and is driving his dream car (a Porsche 911).

That is until the day he pulls out all stops and his trade go horribly wrong!

Shunned from the firm, Dean gives himself over to alcohol, until he ends up on the suicide hotspot of Beachy Head, behind Sweet Dreams Nursing Home for Alzheimer’s patients. An old couple enjoying the view kept him from jumping, and suggested he visit Welnetham Hall Hotel, and specifically book into Room 119.

“I’m glad we were up here to help, Dean. Give these people a ring. They are good at dealing with people like you. It’s where we spent our honeymoon. Make sure you book into Room 119.”

Lince, T F. Room 119: The Whitby Trader: A mystery thriller to die for (p. 59). Kindle Edition.

During his stay in this hotel, Dean enters a different reality, meeting up with several guides who through cryptic clues try to help him find his way back. He doesn’t know where he is and where he is supposed to go back to. Will he manage to find all the missing pieces and get a second chance at life?

Also Read:  Fractured, not broken (a Memoir) by Kelly Schaefer

In most of these type of fantasy novels, the reader can normally pinpoint a specific entrance and exit point into and from the alternate reality where a character finds himself.

But in this book, we can define an entrance point. But the author is very cunning. Because even though we think Dean is back in reality, is he really?

What did I like?

I love how the author just keep you guessing. Every time that I think the story if winding down and is close to the end, I am surprised by another twist or turn.

And not so much?

Deity swears. Although it is understandable why a character will do it given the situation.

Should you read it?

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel with all its twists and turns. Many of the questions and issues Dean face are the same that we are often faced with in life.

Excellent debut novel. Recommend for readers of Dark Fantasy Horror, Dark Fantasy or Paranormal & Urban Fantasy. And of course, Harry Potter fans.

Check out the ♥Books I Love♥!

Did you read this book? Please share your opinion about it with us in the comments!

Hi! I am Susan

Welcome to my adventure

Why Read or Rot?

Also Read:  The Voyage by Douglas Falk

I have started reading at the age of four. I can remember how often I used to read under the covers with a flashlight when I was supposed to sleep.

During my early school years, we used to visit the library once a week. I couldn’t pick out my new book fast enough! By the end of the period, I would have finished it already, leaving me with nothing to read for the rest of the week!

Growing up, Fridays was the highlight of my week. Dad would pack the whole family into the car and off we go! You guessed right……to the library! We were a family of readers.

In my adult years, I’ve developed a variety of interests like technology, photography, gardening and even writing. But reading was and will always be a part of my life!

Reading for me is like breathing. If I cannot read, my soul will quietly rot away….

Visits: 69
Total: 4722
115Shares

Leave a Reply