Blood Dragon by Freddie P Peters

80Shares

Blood Dragon is the first book in the Nany Wu Series. She tries to find a missing tech genius, and solve multiple related murders.

I have received this book as an ARC from the author for an honest review.

Freddie Peters worked as a lawyer and investment banker, love the arts, supporting charity, and mentoring young professionals. She is French-born and writes in English.

Author page
Book Cover Blood Dragon by Freddie P. Peters

Freddie Peters was born in France but stayed in the Square Mile (City of London) for over 25 years. She started as a lawyer and then became an investment banker. Freddie loves art (visual, music, cinema, theatre, etc.) and supports various charities.

She writes not only to tell a story but also because she associates with George Orwell’s quote.

“When I sit down to write a book, I don’t say to myself I am going to produce a work of art. I write it because there is some lie that I want to expose, some facts to which I want to draw attention, and my initial concern is to get a hearing.”

George Orwell

Blood Dragon Summary

Blood Dragon is the first book in the new Nancy Wu crime thriller series. The main character is Nancy Wu, who was a Queen’s Counsel but now an external advisor for Scotland Yard. She is on a personal quest to find out what has happened to her father, who disappeared over 30 years ago in China.

DCI Jonathan Pole (Scotland Yard)

The book features a complex cast and many storylines. DCI Jonathan Pole from Scotland Yard investigates the disappearance of Ollie Wilson. He is a genius biotech researcher working for Viro Tech Therapeutics.

Who kidnapped him, and what were they looking for? What can be so important that they will burn down his apartment rather than having it found?

Also Read:  Red Velvet and Anemones by M.M. Ward

Pole also finds him at the receiving end of an internal investigation about leaked information from a previous case. Although he is exchanging information with MI6, he can’t afford to have this connection discovered.

Jack Shield – CIA

Jack Shield works for the CIA and is on the track of Jared Turner, the Viro Tech Therapeutics CEO. He is suspected of selling valuable biotechnical research to China. Although not illegal, it does have profound implications for national security.

Nancy Wu – external advisor

All fingers point to China. Will Nancy be able to find her father and find evidence that can lead to Jared Turner’s arrest?

What did I love?

I love the character, Cora, girlfriend of Ollie Wilson. Brave and courageous, she doesn’t shy back from entering the burnt shell of their apartment to look for what Ollie’s kidnappers wanted. Small and petite, she is a performance artist. This skill helped her to escape to the roof beams during Ollie’s kidnapping. But this is also how she could access her studio after the destruction of their apartment.

The author switches between characters to flesh out the different storylines. Information is revealed slowly throughout the narrative, leaving the reader to wonder how it all fits together. Later on, it seems as if one person always has the information another person needs, creating tension. Eventually, Nancy Wu is the combining factor, bringing all the storylines together.

The book has plenty of action: Ollie’s kidnapping, the biker trying to run Nancy over, the trap set for Ollie’s murderer, etc. It helps to create tension as the various characters carry on with their investigations despite the obstacles and dangers in their way.

And not so much?

Even though three asterisks indicate this, I had to get used to how the author switched viewpoints within chapters instead of using the usual single point of view per chapter.

She also uses flashbacks (written in italics) to fill us in about Nancy’s past. Sometimes these flashbacks can be quite a lot, leading to me losing the thread of the narrative.

Also Read:  Becoming Insane by Leyla Cardena

Should you read Blood Dragon?

Blood Dragon is a complex novel that will keep you guessing to the end. Many viewpoints and angles help build suspense, and there are enough dangers and obstacles to keep the reader on edge.

I recommend this book to readers who like Tom Clancy, A.G Riddle, and J.B. Turner. Or check out my review of A Time for Violence – An Anthology and The Algorithm, a techno-thriller.

You can also read my interview with the author.

Normally authors will use only one point of view in a chapter. In Blood Dragon, the authors do it within chapters. Did you find this technique effective, or did you feel lost sometimes? We would love to hear from you. Please share with us in the comments?

Follow Freddie P Peters

Facebook | Twitter | BookBub | Goodreads

Book Info

Language: English

Print length: 433 pages

Text- to-Speech | Screen Reader | Enhanced typesetting

Publication Date: 14 April 2021

Categories: Political Fiction | Technotrhillers | Political Thrillers & Suspense

Trigger Warnings: Death | Violence | Profanity

Check out the ♥Books I Love♥!

Hi! I am Susan

Welcome to my adventure

Why Read or Rot?

I have started reading at the age of four. I can remember how I often read under the covers with a flashlight when I was supposed to sleep.

During my early school years, we visited the library once a week. I couldn’t pick out my new book fast enough! By the end of the period, I would have finished it already, leaving me with nothing to read for the rest of the week!

Growing up, Fridays was the highlight of my week. Dad would pack the whole family into the car, and off we go! You guessed right – to the library! We were a family of readers.

In my adult years, I’ve developed a variety of interests like technology, photography, gardening and even writing. But reading was and will always be a part of my life!

Reading for me is like breathing. If I cannot read, my soul will quietly rot away

Visits: 53
Total: 8097
80Shares

Leave a Reply