Blood Dragon by Freddie P Peters

4 Minutes Reading Time

I have received this book as an ARC from the author for an honest review.

Freddie Peters worked as a lawyer and investment banker, love the arts, supporting charity, and mentoring young professionals. She is French-born and writes in English.

Author page

Language: English

Print length: 433 pages

Text- to-Speech | Screen Reader | Enhanced typesetting

Publication Date: 14 April 2021

Categories: Political Fiction | Technotrhillers | Political Thrillers & Suspense

Trigger Warnings: Death | Violence | Profanity

Read the blurb on Amazon

Facebook | Twitter | BookBub | Goodreads

Freddie Peters was born in France but stayed in the Square Mile (City of London) for over 25 years. She started as a lawyer and then became an investment banker. Freddie loves art (visual, music, cinema, theatre, etc.) and supports various charities. She writes not only to tell a story but also because she associates with George Orwell’s quote.

“When I sit down to write a book, I don’t say to myself I am going to produce a work of art. I write it because there is some lie that I want to expose, some facts to which I want to draw attention, and my initial concern is to get a hearing.”

George Orwell

Summary

Blood Dragon is the first book in the new Nancy Wu crime thriller series. The main character is Nancy Wu, who was a Queen’s Counsel but now an external advisor for Scotland Yard. She is on a personal quest to find out what has happened to her father, who disappeared over 30 years ago in China.

Also Read:  Before You Go ...: Frozen Marshmallows; what isn't it should be by Moni V

DCI Jonathan Pole (Scotland Yard)

The book features a complex cast and many storylines. DCI Jonathan Pole from Scotland Yard investigates the disappearance of Ollie Wilson. He is a genius biotech researcher working for Viro Tech Therapeutics.

Who kidnapped him, and what were they looking for? What can be so important that they will burn down his apartment rather than having it found?

Pole also finds him at the receiving end of an internal investigation about leaked information from a previous case. Although he is exchanging information with MI6, he can’t afford to have this connection discovered.

Jack Shield – CIA

Jack Shield works for the CIA and is on the track of Jared Turner, the Viro Tech Therapeutics CEO. He is suspected of selling valuable biotechnical research to China. Although not illegal, it does have profound implications for national security.

Nancy Wu – external advisor

All fingers point to China. Will Nancy be able to find her father and find evidence that can lead to Jared Turner’s arrest?

What did I love?

I love the character, Cora, girlfriend of Ollie Wilson. Brave and courageous, she doesn’t shy back from entering the burnt shell of their apartment to look for what Ollie’s kidnappers wanted. Small and petite, she is a performance artist. This skill helped her to escape to the roof beams during Ollie’s kidnapping. But this is also how she could access her studio after the destruction of their apartment.

The author switches between characters to flesh out the different storylines. Information is revealed slowly throughout the narrative, leaving the reader to wonder how it all fits together. Later on, it seems as if one person always has the information another person needs, creating tension. Eventually, Nancy Wu is the combining factor, bringing all the storylines together.

Also Read:  Jihadi Bride by Alastair Luft

The book has plenty of action: Ollie’s kidnapping, the biker trying to run Nancy over, the trap set for Ollie’s murderer, etc. It helps to create tension as the various characters carry on with their investigations despite the obstacles and dangers in their way.

And not so much?

Even though three asterisks indicate this, I had to get used to how the author switched viewpoints within chapters instead of using the usual single point of view per chapter.

She also uses flashbacks (written in italics) to fill us in about Nancy’s past. Sometimes these flashbacks can be quite a lot, leading to me losing the thread of the narrative.

Should you read it?

Blood Dragon is a complex novel that will keep you guessing to the end. Many viewpoints and angles help build suspense, and there are enough dangers and obstacles to keep the reader on edge.

I recommend this book to readers who like Tom Clancy, A.G Riddle, and J.B. Turner.

Check out the ♥Books I Love♥!

Did you read this book? Please share your opinion about it with us in the comments!

Meet Susan

Susan van der Walt is an avid reader of genres like crime, thrillers, adventure, and true stories. On Read or Rot she shares her favourite books and quotes with you. She also writes articles, book reviews and book recommendations. She lives in Alberton (South Africa) with her husband, Warrick, and fur baby, Pixie.

Visits: 34
Total: 2742

Leave a Reply